Game-Game-Life Balance

Over the weekend, for the second time in 2015, I realized I needed to take a step back and examine my engagement in the hobby. The cause, in both incidents, has been the same: too much time spent on activities within the hobby that ISN’T playing games.

What do I mean by this? A good example are working on modifications or additions to the mechanics of a system. This can be a rewarding experience, sure, but its also time consuming. Time that could be spent planning, playing, or running games (or, for me, writing which is my greatest passion). I am left drained and bereft of time after a spin down that particular rabbit hole.

So, I’m course correcting. I’ll focus on planning, playing, and running games. I’ll avoid involved bouts of mechanical tweaking. I’ll keep it simple and keep it lean. I’m in this hobby to tell stories and have fun, not play at game design (something I’ll leave to more dedicated folks).

How do you maintain balance between different aspects of the hobby and the rest of your life? Have you had to take a step back to examine yourself and your relationship with gaming? Let me know in the comments below!

Author: John Drury

Hi, my name is John and I REALLY like my blog...

Leave a Reply

