Magic in Fairy Tail, Redux

I took another crack at what I wrote up earlier, which was fine, but not quite there yet. This is closer:

Making Magic in Fairy Tail: Generations

  • Step 1: Have an Aspect that says you’re a wizard!
    • Example: The Wizard Known as the Blue Rocket
  • Step 2: Brainstorm your power: what it can do, how it does it, what it might look like etc.
    • Example: The Blue Rocket is a wizard known for their brilliant blue flames and how they can make it into all kinds of things. They also decide that this kind of magic tends to be Forceful or Flashy.
  • Step 3: Build the Magic, which works a bit like a Stunt Family and a bit like an Extra, by spending a point of Refresh.
    • Use the following format: Because I am [Insert Aspect that says you’re a wizard] I can [Insert Name of Magic] to [describe your magic and its effect]. My [Insert Name of Magic] has the Taboo [insert Taboo aspect].
    • Because Magic in Earth-Land is so flexible, a wizard can do about anything they can think of or learn as a Magic; see http://fairytail.wikia.com/wiki/Magic for ideas of what might be possible.
    • Each Magic has at least one Taboo, which is an Aspect that defines the rules of the magic. These Aspects exist to be compelled by the GM, primarily, in order to reinforce the rules of your Magic. Each Taboo a Magic has provides a free stunt which the wizard may use to take a spell to use for that Magic ONLY. In this way, the more powerful the magic, the more Taboos it has.
    • Example: Because I am The Wizard Known as The Blue Rocket I can use Fire Creation Magic to create all kinds of things out of blue fire from my hands. My Fire Creation Magic has the Taboo One-Handed Casting is Unstable.
  • Step 4: Design some spells for your Magic! Spells are stunts attached to each Magic.
    • Example of spells that make your actions better
      • Because I can cast Fire-Make: Bazooka I get +2 when I Forcefully attack when attacking from a distance with the bazooka.
    • Example of spells that make something true, do something cool, or ignore usual rules in some way:
      • Because I can cast Fire-Make: Rocket Ship, once per session I can show up anywhere I want, provided I could fly there on my rocket ship, no matter where I started.
    • Example of powerful spells that have another spell as a prerequisite:
      • Because I can cast Fire-Make: Missile Battery I get +4 when I Forcefully attack when attacking from a distance with the missile battery. Requires Fire-Make: Bazooka.
    • Example of powerful spells that require some additional cost:
      • Because I can cast Fire-Make: Magic Bomber, once per session I can inflict the Taxed Condition on myself to conjure a Magic Bomber, allowing me to Forcefully attack everything in a large area, gaining a +4 when I do.
    • Example of spells so powerful they require an extreme cost:
      • Because I can cast Bomber: Self-Destruct I can explode with extreme destructive force in a small area by sacrificing myself to fuel the explosion.
    • Step 5: Roll an Approach and let the magic fly!
      • Wizards gain a special set of Conditions they can inflict on themselves to gain extra bonuses when using their magic. They get one each of the following: Strained at fleeting, Taxed at sticky, and Drained at lasting.

I welcome any feedback. I should be play-testing this soon in a play-by-post game called Fairy Tail: Generations over on Myth Weavers. I’ll let you know what I discover!

Author: John Drury

Hi, my name is John and I REALLY like my blog...

Leave a Reply

