#RPGaDay 2017 Begins! (Day 1)

I honestly can’t believe this time has come around again. I remember, like it was yesterday, when I was hurriedly writing entires to last year’s #RPGaDay. But time flies, and here we are, so let’s talk RPG’s!

#RPGaDay 2017 is pulling no punches, and is ushered in with this question: what RPG do you want to be playing right now?

I’ve recently finished a two-part Dresden Files Accelerated casefile and over this last weekend ran my session 0 for a campaign of Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition set in Eberron. Both of these accomplish longstanding desires I’ve had for my game time, which is recently getting back on track after the adjustments that come with parenthood. But a little bit of gaming never stops us from wanting more, does it?

In a world where time and players are limitless, there are three systems that I’d love to be playing:

The first one should come as no surprise to anyone when I say Fate: specifically using the Venture City rules for super heroes. Last year I ran two amazing series using Venture City (available for your viewing pleasure here), and I’ve been itching to get back into it. I’d go modern this time, drawing from some of my favorite comic sources such as X-Men or the Netflix Marvel efforts to frame the story.

Next up is Numenera.  I was really jazzed to try my hand at Numenera earlier in the year after playing Torment: Tides of Numenera. The setting book created based on that game is awesome and after re-reading the system, I was hooked by it. It hasn’t happened yet, but I wouldn’t be shocked to see me running a pre-made adventure in the 9th World sometime soon.

The third and final system is also the one I’m least likely to find players for: Blue Rose, using the AGE system. This is a beautiful book, with amazing art and an intriguing world. More than that, the refined and additional mechanics presented using the AGE system are very interesting, and I’d love to see them in play. Not a ton of interest for this system however, so this desire may go unfulfilled for awhile.

Asked and answered, but I’d love to see what systems you yearn to play? Comment below or link me to your own blog/vlog/social media. Get involved with #RPGaDay 2017!

Author: John Drury

Hi, my name is John and I REALLY like my blog...

Leave a Reply

