#RPGaDay 2017: Day 7

Today’s question is: what was your most impactful RPG session?

I hate these kinds of questions. In the last four years I’ve ran a ton of sessions, and played in a few along the way. What criteria do I use to measure “impact”? How do I draw a single example from dozens of sessions and say “here, this one had the most impact”?

If I had a good answer, I wouldn’t spend precious word count bemoaning the nature of the question.

For me, the measure of a GM’s impact is in the players reactions and memories, and how that sticks with me. Like when both Alex Blackheart and Kaden Nuru touched the same cursed denarius at the end of How the Outsiders Stole Christmas. I can point to the moment during Wanted: Heroes when the Beacon of Hope tried, and failed, to stop the Resitance doctor from taking the Nazi ubermensch formula. Or more recently, when a romance spanning both sides of the veil lead to a headspinning kiss in The Motor City Files.

I think these examples, and their sessions, had some impact. But I’ll put it to those who have played with me: what is the most impactful session I’ve GMed for you?

Author: John Drury

Hi, my name is John and I REALLY like my blog...

4 thoughts on “#RPGaDay 2017: Day 7”

  1. You have mentioned Two of them. One more I would like to
    Mention is the superexciting fight over and in the english Channel. Beacon gets taken out and the Steamhammer comes up through the waves to fight the nazi

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been blessed with great games and even greater players these last few years. I of course remember my brief dalliance with Wraith with you at the helm sir. The scene where my Shadow took over and I had to be beaten in a kitchen is still with me. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

